Rand Paul’s First Forum

Ah, the VotersFirst Forum in New Hampshire. I actually enjoyed this. I got to see a lot of good things from some candidates, and of course, I got to see a lot of bad stuff from some really bad candidates, such as Chris Christie and Lindsey Graham. But overall, I think this has shown that there has been some change within the GOP. Disagree with me all you want, but I think there has been some.

Now, I’ll say this first off. I’ll thank the three Senate candidates who were in teleconference from DC. The vote to Defund Planned Parenthood was up in the Senate yesterday, and these three Senators did their job by representing their constituents. One, by the name of Lindsey Graham, did not, in choosing to actually be at the Forum in person, thus skipping out on the vote, and refusing to do his job. This isn’t a surprise, as Lindsey has a record of missing votes as of recently.

But enough about that, I’m here to talk about Paul. Here’s the video’s of Paul from last nights Forum:

Paul came out, in my belief, the winner of the debate. Here’s why. He was able to differentiate himself from the others, clearly creating a difference between him, and not making himself look like everyone else. This is very much an important thing, because if he was not able to differentiate himself from the pack, then he’d be in trouble, as people like to see how the candidate can be different.

Paul was able to point out that he is not subscribing to the conventional GOP rhetoric of just words with no actions. Paul came in with actual plans, such as his Flat Tax Plan, and his plan for Student Debt, which I’ll be doing a post on soon. And before I move on, no Rick Santorum, Rand’s plan is not a VAT. I’ve already addressed that. That’s a talking point from the New York Times, and you should know better.

We need someone who can not only just put out words with hot air, but someone who can put forth an actual plan for things, and articulate why that plan would be good. I go to other candidates websites, and all I get are “I want to do this”, but I never got a “How I’m going to do this”. With Rand, you get actual propositions, and that’s what I think people want to hear.

Take the Flat Tax Plan. A common criticism was that it wasn’t a Fair Tax, and it’s not trying to be. But the fact that people are actually going through the plan, reading it over, and talking about it, I’d say, is a win for the Paul campaign.

In my opinion, I believe that Rand Paul was the winner of the Forum last night, and I believe that he is going to be going into the First Debate in good standing and on good territory.

Leave a Reply

